ITIL® Intermediate – Service Design

Design services that meet the needs of the organization or programme
ITIL® Intermediate Service Design (SD) is one of five ITIL® Service Lifecycle modules. It focuses on the design of IT services and covers the architectures, processes, policies and documentation that enables you to design services that meet the needs of the organisation or programme.
The design process is vital to the continued improvement and development of services within the IT lifecycle. This module will give you access to the techniques required to develop, manage and integrate service design into the IT Service management process.
It also introduces the purpose, principles and processes of service design and teaches you how to organize and implement this as part of overall service management, as well as providing guidance on technology-related activities and considerations. In addition, this module demonstrates how service design relates to the other stages of the ITIL Service Lifecycle.

  • 24 hrs of classroom / instructor-led training
  • Accredited Instructor with industry experience
  • Case Studies & real-world examples
  • End of chapter quizzes and simulation exams
  • Certification exam included



ITIL® Intermediate Service Design is suitable for IT professionals in positions such as Capacity Manager, Availability Manager, Service Level Manager, Business Continuity Manager, Service Portfolio Manager. It is also relevant to CIOs, CTOs, IT Consultants, IT Audit Managers, IT Security Managers, and other IT professionals involved in the design of IT services


Upon Completion of this Course, you will accomplish following:-

  •  Establishing and justifying the constraints for different IT services
  • Developing and presenting a high-level security policy
  • Preparing and justifying a continuity approach for a set of services
  • Creating a financial justification for the purchase and deployment of Service Design tools
  • Producing a draft Service Level Agreement (SLA)
  • Completing Business Impact Analysis and Risk Management Prepare for and take the ITIL Intermediate Qualification: Service Design Certification Exam
  • Define the goal, objectives and scope of Service Design
  • Outline key activities for Service Design processes in the context of the Service Lifecycle
  • Enhance the quality of IT service provision within an organization
  • Measure Service Design processes using critical success factors and key performance indicators

Module 1: Service design -its need and importance
Module 2: Service design principles
Module 3: Service design processes
Module 4: Service design technology-related activities
Module 5: Organizing for service design
Module 6: Technology considerations
Module 7: Implementation and improvement of service design
Module 8: Challenges, critical success factors and risks

  • ITIL V3 Foundation Certificate or ITIL V2 Foundation plus Bridge Certificate and completion of an accredited Course from an ITIL Accredited Training Provider

Format: Closed-book
Delivery: Online and Paper-based
Questions: 8 multiple choice, scenario-based, gradient scored questions. Each question will have 4 possible answer options, one of which is worth 5 marks, one which is worth 3 marks, one which is worth 1 mark, and one which is a distracter and achieves no marks.
Passing Score: 70% (28 out of 40)
Duration: 90 Minutes

    • High-impact learning with case studies
    • Delivered by certified instructors
    • Targeted learning for real projects

    Check Schedule

    Fill this form below and our executive will get in touch with you shortly

    Share with your friends